User Tag List

Thread: French Press brew ratio - cup quality variation with brew quantity?

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default French Press brew ratio - cup quality variation with brew quantity?

Hey Guys,

I've been brewing french press for a few years now and I've always tried to use the french press at work to make small cups (250-350mL) of coffee and I've always found that my brew results are never as good as when I make two cups in one press in the morning (700-900mL typically).

This has led me to think that there is something inherently different about the results of coffee brewed in a small batch in a french press and a large batch in a french press. Could this be because the amount of fine grains making their way into the cup in a small batch is higher whereas the large batch gives a cleaner cup? The taste of the large batch is more clear and with less heavy body typically. Or perhaps I need to adjust something between large and small batch to make things work better. Or maybe I should filter the small batch coffee with a paper filter.

Any ideas on best methods for small cups from a french press?

PS: My current brew profile for a small batch is about 15g coffee to 320g water, which is 47g/1L. My local roaster recommends 66g/1L.
    - Brad Comis. Bicycle Designer.

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    58 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Re: French Press brew ratio - cup quality variation with brew quantity?

I brew at least two cups each time. If I might take a stab, it's losing heat faster than a larger batch causing the quality to differ.

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

I don't make less than 500ml usually, fits my normal travel mug and I like at least that much in the morning if I'm not having espresso. Your ratio's sound pretty normal to me.