User Tag List

Thread: Photo studio lighting for bikes/frames

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

Default Photo studio lighting for bikes/frames

I'm a novice photographer and wondering what people are doing for lighting? I'm trying to set up studio lighting and am constantly amazed at how much wattage it seems to take to shoot a bike frame. I know the lack of surface area is the issue but nonetheless whenever I think I've got enough light I don't. I have around 1200 watts and it just isn't enough. How big are people's lighting set ups?

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

Default Re: Photo studio lighting for bikes/frames

My lights are made by Lowe Pro and currently are running 250 W / 120 V Osram Halogen Photo Optic Lamps (so 3 total light sources). I've been thinking up upping my wattage a tad and at a later date upgrading the umbrella's I have to softboxes...

Ideally, you really want 3 light sources: left, right and overhead (overhead being the KEY light source for a bicycle IMO). You also want to be using umbrella's or softboxes to diffuse the light source so you're getting as even a light source as can be. You want to have a seamless backdrop on a roll (I believe my own is 12yd's at 107" in width). You do not want any competing light sources as this can play with what the camera's lens "sees". It does not "see" what our eyes do. This is why I shoot at night so I am ensured that no external light is competing with my light sources (I shoot in the frame shop actually). So if you can, ideally shoot in a fully enclosed space without any competing light sources.

With the above lights and about 7-10 minutes post in Adobe Photoshop, here's a shot from this past saturday evening: