User Tag List

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: Dallas is getting old. Contemplating a move.

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Dallas is getting old. Contemplating a move.

So, I'm 30 and single. Born in England, but I've called Texas home since 1988 when my dad moved our family here for work. However, the vanity and congestion are beginning to wear me down. I consider myself an avid cyclist (4k+ miles this year), and would love to live somewhere with easy access to safe roads for great riding. I'm a relatively fast club rider who races cross for fun. Skiing in the winter would be great- I've never had easy access to it and would welcome that change.

So, what's holding me back?

-The local economy is fantastic and I am enjoying the new job I started this January. I'm an orthopedic physician assistant working in total joint replacement 2 1/2 years out of school. Only debt is a loan on my Outback I bought 3 weeks ago (other car died). No state income tax is also nice.

-My family. My parents and sister are just up the road 25 miles away. I have enjoyed riding on Saturday and heading to my parent's house for grilling and a dip in their pool. I would miss that proximity. Family is important to me.

-Fear. Maybe. I've done it before (USMC Reserve '01-'07. Traveled around a bit for training x1 year), but this is different.