Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: My Next Career

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    19 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

Default My Next Career

When I leave my job in May, I plan on being a semi-professional cyclist until the end of June when my son leaves for college. After that, I want to sell the house and move on. I'm a retired Naval Officer with some VA as well. I don't need much income on top what I already get, I just want to work on bikes.

I'm looking at United Bicycle Institute to take some classes on my GI Bill dollars and then get a job in a bike shop somewhere. Does anyone have any insight on this or have suggestions about getting educated for a bike shop career? I'm pretty mechanically inclined plus I'm an engineer, I could probably do ok without the schools, but my GI Bill is just sitting there unused and will cover all of the training plus some dollars for lodging while I'm there. I'd look to take as many classes as possible including wheel building.
    Retired Sailor, Marine dad, semi-professional cyclist, fly fisherman, and Indian School STEM teacher.
    Assistant Operating Officer at Farm Soap homemade soaps. www.farmsoap.com

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Re: My Next Career

Sounds rad.

I don’t have current enough info on UBI (I did have a teammate who took classes there and went on to wrenching for domestic pro teams, but that was 15 years ago). Remember to see if you can switch your Montgomery GI* to the post 9/11 GI. If you haven’t spent it yet, I believe you should be able to switch it, and it’s a lot more money.

*I’m assuming that’s what you have estimating when your service occurred. I could obviously have this all wrong.

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    74 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

I think I'd move to Boulder and sign over my soul to Vecchios.