User Tag List

Thread: New Member - Anyone willing to give Brazing Lessons in Southern California?

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default New Member - Anyone willing to give Brazing Lessons in Southern California?

Hi All,

Wanted to start with an introduction. My names Chris Sanford, I live in LA and have been daydreaming about building frames as a hobby for quite some time. Have recently moved to a house with an actual workspace and have decided to start down the road to building my first frame.

This forum has been a huge help in researching specific steps I should be taking. Have picked up some basic handtools and straight guage tubing and started practicing stuff like miters and notches for dropouts. Have enjoyed getting a feel for that stuff and want to start getting into some brazing.

That's where my question starts. I work in the film industry and tend to have pretty long days during the week, which rules out the trade school options I've found for brazing classes. There's also a community metalworking shop locally. I've signed up for a framebuilding class there in June, but would love to get going sooner.

With that, are there any forum members locally, or within a few hour drive, who'd be willing to show me the ropes? I'm imagining some weekend sessions, would just like to learn under some knowledgeable supervisions and have someone to check the quality of practice work I'll end up doing. I'd obviously be willing to pay for your time, and am not expecting that to be particularly cheap. I'll also promise to be humble, hard-working, and bring donuts.

Thanks for any insight you guys might have, and the awesome resources you've already given on this forum.

Best
    Chris

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Re: New Member - Anyone willing to give Brazing Lessons in Southern California?