User Tag List

Thread: Frame Testing

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Frame Testing

Interesting podcast on CyclingTips today on the subject of testing and custom bikes.

Begs the question: how many builders here do?
    Mark Kelly

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Re: Frame Testing

I have only tested one fork in a lab. I am basically a hobbyist so I felt it was a good way to measure durability.
    Was set to send a frame in.. then decided to make my own frame tester.

Flickr

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Like the integrated cycle counter. I rely on the PLC control software for the cycle count, it's a PITA. I think I'll add a counter like yours.

Smoked Out on Testing
    Mark Kelly

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Yeah I only use the control box I made.. no computer.

The counter was just a cheap one off ebay. It only goes to 99,999 but, that's my stopping point to restart.

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

I've been thinking about the contents of the podcast mentioned in the OP and have come up with a coupleof ideas.

One thing that got a bit glossed over in this discussion is that the fatigue tests specified in ISO4210-6 are a bit of a compromise between short cycle and long cycle fatigue, but this has an interesting consequence that was mentioned: both Nick Crumpton and Ben Shultz say in the webcast that they are still riding bikes that have been through the fatigue test, as am I.