User Tag List

Thread: Any other industrial designers out there?

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Any other industrial designers out there?

Any other builders out there with a background / education in industrial design?

I'm a product designer by day and fledgling builder / hobbyist by night. At my day job I'm tired of "design by committee" with engineers, marketing, and sub-par overseas manufacturing influencing (and sometimes butchering) the end result. I'm drawn to frame building for my love of bicycling, creating, and having complete control over the final outcome. I also love working in a shop with my hands - industrial design these days is far too reliant on CAD and being buried behind the computer.

Would love to hear if there's any of you out there, your thoughts, and how you came by bicycle building.

(moderators - if this belongs in general discussion, sorry! I can delete / repost it)

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    17 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

Default Re: Any other industrial designers out there?

I am an Industrial Designer trade and training. Start here... You can also read more at my Smoked Out. That should give you something to chew on for a few...
    Kristofer Henry : 44 BIKES : Made to Shred™
    www.44bikes.com · Flickr · Facebook · Instagram

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Thank you for the links / stories! I'm slowly reading through the first one... so jealous of your shop, it's beautiful. That's my dream.

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)