Thread: Bikes: How they are ridden Part II

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    42 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Bikes: How they are ridden Part II

Quote Originally Posted by palincss View Post
    ...I think most people who have adopted a "bars level with the saddle" position have done so consciously and for a worthwhile purpose, not out of ignorance.
    This doesn't jibe with my experience. Which, in a nutshell, is this:

I have never raced. I always enjoyed riding a bike but never took it seriously until about seven years ago. I got a mountain bike, hooked up with a group of riders through a friend and started falling in love with it. About a year later the same group went out on the road. I dragged my old racing bike out of the basement and found that I loved riding on the road even more than in the woods. I found other people to ride with. I found the old Kahnua/Serotta forum. I started learning more about bikes, about the sport of cycling and about riding. I ride as much as I can now and I aspire to get faster, stronger, and more skillful.

I regularly ride with a bunch of middle-aged folks who are a lot like me (only less obsessed with the minutea of the sport). If you asked any one of them about their cycling goals, I think they would align with mine - to be faster, stronger, and more skillful. It doesn't matter that they take it less seriously than I do - They want to be better cyclists.

A lot of them ride fasterbackwards style bikes. These are not people who are injured or frail, they're active and healthy, and most are in pretty good physical shape. I would wager a lot of money that they did not consciously and knowingly choose their bike set-ups. Someone in a bike store made that decision for them. And they live with it because they don't know any better.

This here forum is a nice little resource so that folks who are interested and motivated can know better.
    GO!

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    58 Post(s)
    Tagged