User Tag List

Thread: Glenn Curtiss Museum

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Glenn Curtiss Museum

If you're ever in the neighborhood of Hammondsport NY it is definitely something to check out. Old motorcycles, motors made in the first decade of the 20th century not to mention airplanes that boggle the mind. Looking at something made of bamboo, linen and wire with an engine developed by a guy that was self taught after 8th grade and he flew it from Albany to New York City. I should have pictures but was too caught up just looking at everything in awe.
    Tom Ambros

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Re: Glenn Curtiss Museum

Quote Originally Posted by Tom View Post
    If you're ever in the neighborhood of Hammondsport NY it is definitely something to check out. Old motorcycles, motors made in the first decade of the 20th century not to mention airplanes that boggle the mind. Looking at something made of bamboo, linen and wire with an engine developed by a guy that was self taught after 8th grade and he flew it from Albany to New York City. I should have pictures but was too caught up just looking at everything in awe.
    That is a mind bender! I'll remember it on the chance that I'll get up that way before my Sell By Date. The mechanical stuff that folks made in their garages back then, pouring their own castings and such as that, is truly amazing.

On a related note for folks farther south: The Naval Aviation Museum at NAS Pensacola is pretty stellar. From Jennys through WWII, jets and pretty current stuff, it's definitely worth seeing if in the neighborhood.
    John Clay
    Tallahassee, FL
    My Framebuilding: https://www.flickr.com/photos/21624415@N04/sets

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    19 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

Quote Originally Posted by jclay View Post