User Tag List

Thread: Jumping in with both feet

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Jumping in with both feet

I have been reading about frame building for about two years now and just found this forum (not sure how it escaped me before that). I have never made a bike frame, but have used an oxy acetylene torch a great deal and when I was in college for machining, we took a week long welding and brazing class, so not a total newbie.

I have always wanted to build frames and try out new bike designs. I have been looking at used and new torch setups and then happened across the many post Doug has made about Oxy propane with a oxygen generator. So I found a Devbliss 525 new for $790 shipped and it's on the way...Pretty impulsive, but if I don't make a move now I will just keep reading about it vs actually doing it. Thanks for the inspiration and sorry in advance for all the stupid questions we all know will come.
    Sean Stephenson

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Re: Jumping in with both feet

Hi Sean,

The invasion of Ukraine has me busy contacting my friends in that country and organizing help. I've been involved with a charity bicycle project in Ukraine for 22 years. In fact making frames over there is what got me involved in using propane instead of acetylene. This development has prevented me from participating in normal framebuilding threads.

Have you gotten your torch set up yet? Once you are playing with fire you will need to practice your skills. You might know this already but I recommend practicing silver brazing with short .058" slips tubes over longer standard tubing. For fillet brazing short mitered stubs on a long bigger ø tube works well.

We don't know what you know or need help with so just ask and good luck and welcome to our club!

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)