Thread: Composting toilets

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Composting toilets

Shitty question-wocka wocka

Anyway, I own some land where folks go rock climbing and I am building an off grid cabin for them to stay in. It will be a sustainable endeavor that’s minimalistic. Still gonna need to do the thing. I’ve never had a need for a composting toilet but want something nicer than an outhouse.

Ideas? Recommendations on what to do or not doo? All the puns-

Brands?
    ‘The Earth is not dying, it is being killed, and those that are killing it have names and addresses-‘ Utah Phillips

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Re: Composting toilets

How many people, and how often will they "go" (i.e. be there)?

I'm no expert, but I'm sure that will have some effect on what's most appropriate for the job.

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    74 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Churchtown Dairy, a local regenerative agriculture project headed by Abby Rockefeller (yes, that Rockefeller) on 250 acres, is set up with composting toilets by a company called Clivus Multrum Inc. I know very little about them except that Abby Rockefeller is a big proponent of the brand. And I've visited them on occasion, and they seem like nice toilets.

The cheese from the dairy is great, so if there is something in the water, then it is working out well for the cheese.
    Jorn Ake
    poet

Flickr
    Books

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

That’s a good question.. how does one rate a composting toilets usage? Shits per week?

I’m imagining that the toilet might ‘see action’ and or be called into duty 6-8x per week?

I need to do the math-

I’m a welder/contractor and have built most everything.. I’m finding my lack of composting knowledge exciting.