Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Furniture Design

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Furniture Design

I have questions about furniture. I imagine others might, too.

Hopefully there are some folks around here with answers.

I'll start, but others should feel free to add.

I think I want a minimalist-ish recliner for a spot in our living room. I've spotted various renditions of this basic idea:

Does this design have a name and history behind it?

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Re: Furniture Design

I am no expert, but an ahem armchair enjoyer of furniture.

I would call that chair "contemporary" which I believe is an actual design movement. My wife just says, no, that's more midcentury modern. I love the functionality and elegance of it. I think it might count as contempoary. :) They are similar anyway. A well done Atomic ranch style house might have some contemporary style, and there are also what are called "contemporary" houses, which I like, too. Modernism that's not brutalism, atmo. Function and form pretty close to each other in my opinion, which is a nice thing. I like old farmhouses, French renaissance, furniture, and state-fair quilts, too. But yeah, contemporary design is so nice. We have a Danish modern bed that jives with it, a credenza/record player stand, a sofa, and a handful of other stuff. In fact, I'm typing this at my desk, which I would say is as "contemporary" as anything else we own. Maybe I'll snap a pic.
    Last edited by deano; 02-15-2020 at 01:50 PM.

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)