User Tag List

Thread: Turkish Coffee

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    58 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Turkish Coffee

Many moons ago I was a student at Tel Aviv Univ. We only made turkish coffee and almost always the roaster would grind a small abount of Cardamon with the beans...heaven.

I've got yen to reproduce this setup and have a 3 cup Ibrik inbound. Yeeehawww.

When we got it right, a cup of the good stuff far exceeded the quality of most any espresso. It's all about the grind I think.

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Re: Turkish Coffee

Turksh is beyond my paygrade. Enjoy.

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    58 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Quote Originally Posted by PDAR View Post
    Basically it's Cowboy coffee. We can hack this.

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

I love Turkish coffee but have thus far left it to the experts. Zaytinya downtown and Fava Pot in Falls Church both stand out for me.

Watching this discussion with interest.

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    74 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

They make it at Hummus Place opposite the Jewish Community Center on Amsterdam. The coffee and cardamon is ground finer than you use in espresso. Like powder because you have to actually be able to drink it. When they make it at Hummus Place, it takes a while because someone has to make it. They can't just stick the pot on the fire, go make a falafel and come back when its done. They heat it to a boil 2 or 3 times, removing the pot when it boils, then putting it back on when it settles, so it gets a foamy head. Some people drink it hyper sweet with a lot of sugar. Some get condensed milk. One place I had it in Paris threw in a spoon of walnut pieces and raisins and a whole cardamon pod. That was the great. But I like it best unsweetened with baklava on the side.
    Jorn Ake
    poet

Flickr
    Books

Post Thanks / Like