User Tag List

Thread: Removal of residual hand and cutting oil from bare frames and forks ?

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Removal of residual hand and cutting oil from bare frames and forks ?

When building I try to keep my steel frames and forks free from as much oil as possible. But as a hobbyist, I don't build in a clean room and I know that there are surface contaminants all over my bare frames, whether skin oil or cutting oil or resin from the production cloth.

But I want to try and hand off a frame to the painter as clean as possible. I'm wondering what others do, and for the Painters here - how do you deal with
    pre-paint cleaning and de-greasing ?

P.S. - where I was working I used water-soluble oil for the first time when turning the fork crown seats. I'm guessing I'm going to need detergent
    and hot water to get THAT off of there ?

Regards,
    Mike Fabian
    San Francisco

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Re: Removal of residual hand and cutting oil from bare frames and forks ?

After cutting crowns and tapping threads, I spray down with isopropyl alcohol (purchased from the pharmacy) using a spray bottle from the hardware store. It is great for breaking down and cleaning away the excess oil, and evaporates quickly.
    Michael Gordon
    Shop Dog Cycles
    www.shopdogcycles.com
    Highland Park, IL

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Re: Removal of residual hand and cutting oil from bare frames and forks ?

70% or 91% isopropyl alcohol?
    Chris Dougherty
    Sacramento Ca
    Curious hobby builder.

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)