User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How not to look like a noob in cycling gear...

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default How not to look like a noob in cycling gear...

Guys,

Came home yesterday from my commute and my other half told me I look like a total noob in the gear I was wearing. I totally agree but haven't really cared thus far.

Is there any tips, techniques or etiquette for cycling gear and not looking like the weird guy that rides a bike?

fwiw... I was wearing:
    jeans with high vis band to keep my pants out of the big ring
    red axiom jacket
    high vis yellow/green helmet cover
    black gloves
    road shoes

Always feel like I look a bit awkward in anything technical, especially being that I have a large head and a helmet doesn't help look any smaller. I have been buying bargain cycling gear to cover the ranges of riding I do with one nice assos kit for my longer summer rides.

help?
    Matt Moore

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Re: How not to look like a noob in cycling gear...

We need photo evidence so that we might roundly mock your gear choices. Education through derision!

Seriously though, I wouldn't worry about it. We all look ridiculous out there.

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

minus the helmet cover, it reads like you're a commuter.

I can't do helmet covers, unless it's frigid, so I load up on lights. Not really load up. 2 blinkies (1 jersey, 1 seatpost) and a Garneau Spiderlock Vision on the helmet. i would, and have, done everything else you mention.

well, minus the jacket. i don't like jackets, again, unless it's really, really cold.
    -Dustin

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

it was -4C on the morning ride and +15c on the ride home.
    translates to ~25f in the morning and ~60F in the afternoon.