User Tag List

Thread: What is the effect on silver flux when tacking vs. pinning a joint?

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default What is the effect on silver flux when tacking vs. pinning a joint?

I am a newbie builder learning silver lugged construction, so please excuse my inexperience. I did a bit of searching but could not find an answer to this...

I have been getting good results fluxing the joint, pinning it, removing it from the jig and brazing in a vice. As i am setting up to do the chainstays on my current project, an acquaintance who does some bronze brazing, suggested I skip the pins just tack braze while in the jig and finish it as I currently do.

My concern with this is that it takes the silver flux through two heat cycles and would risk overcooking the flux, risking poor penetration etc... My impression is that the flux for bronze might stand up to this better, but that is from very little experience with bronze.

With silver flux (Cycle Design System 48) am I better off pinning and using just one heat cycle? Or should I just practice good heat control and don't worry about the two cycles?

Thank you in advance for any advice that can be shared!

Guy
    Guy Washburn

Photography > www.guywashburn.com

“Instructions for living a life: Pay attention. Be astonished. Tell about it.”
    – Mary Oliver

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Re: What is the effect on silver flux when tacking vs. pinning a joint?

If you are concerned because you are nuking the flux, slow down and run some more practice. Tacking should be a low impact experience for you and the bike. It is pretty common to tack in the fixture and braze free from it, but that doesn't mean it should be done without concern if you are having trouble controlling heat at the tacking phase.