User Tag List

Thread: Smoker for a 10 year old

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Smoker for a 10 year old

So my youngest just turned 10 and wants a smoker! Hell ya! He wants to do wings and the like.

I don't know much about smokers but would an electric be a good start for him/us? And no he is NOT getting a green egg thing.

Saratoga Springs, New York, United States
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Re: Smoker for a 10 year old

Electric would definitely be the easiest way to go. They are very simple to operate. It is essentially a hot plate with wood chips, so its set it and forget type of operation. I have no first hand experience, this is only second hand knowledge from my brother in-law.

For charcoal, Weber makes a small smoker

Smokey Mountain Cookerâ„¢ Smoker 14" | Weber.com

I have used the middle size for about 15years and its a great unit. Every kid I know loves playing with fire, so depending on how you feel about that, its a great way to go.

Wings are great on it, but you have to get it up to temp ~350F. There is a fantastic resource for recipes and methods at The Virtual Weber Bullet - For the Weber Smokey Mountain Cooker smoker enthusiast
    Last edited by Chris Yates; 02-16-2016 at 01:13 PM. Reason: typo

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

I have a 30 inch Masterbuilt electric. Super easy to use, 4 racks. Can usually find on sale somewhere for around $150. I purchased mine at Tractor Supply.

Amazon.com : Masterbuilt 20070910 30-Inch Black Electric Digital Smoker, Top Controller : Patio, Lawn & Garden

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Quote Originally Posted by Chad View Post
    I have a 30 inch Masterbuilt electric. Super easy to use, 4 racks. Can usually find on sale somewhere for around $150. I purchased mine at Tractor Supply.