Thread: Talk to me about copper cookware

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Talk to me about copper cookware

Paging coppercook.

Recently while whipping up some red snapper à la grenobloise in the same aluminum pan I've used since I was an undergraduate it occurred to me that I'd enjoy something a little nicer, and that I'm never going to wear out a 6ga aluminum pan designed for high volume kitchen abuse. So, I'd like to upgrade some of my stuff, but my only experience has been in high-volume, low-skill kinds of places (kept my bank account black while in school), and so I got that same stuff for at home and all I've ever used was thick gauge aluminum and a couple of hand-me-down stainless pieces of junk. I have no idea what's good, or what I'd probably like.

I'm leaning towards picking up some tinned copper stuff. Probably a splayed sauce pan and a larger saute pan. My worry is the melting point and durability of tin. The internet seems to be high on opinion and low on fact and experience. I'm no reenactment enthusiast, so if modern stuff outperforms the traditional, let me know. So who's using copper (or something else you're excited about) and what do I need to know?

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

Default Re: Talk to me about copper cookware

Maybe off-topic, but we've had a lot of cookware, including copper core & full copper.

Hands down, the best $ we've spent on kitchen stuff in the last few years is on the Mauviel 1830 series. We have 8" and 14" skillets, depending whether we're doing two eggs or 8... ; )

It's not non-stick per se, but has developed the best non-stick patina of any cookware we've owned. I'm really blown away by it, and reach for it first every single time unless I need the heat-holding properties of cast iron. And it's cheap enough that you can try it, see for yourself, and give it to me if you don't like it!

Link here: