Likes Likes:  0

Thread: Flux coated rods

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Flux coated rods

Anybody have any luck brazing with flux coated rods as opposed to using paste flux? Pros and cons?

Better to be ruined than to be silent atmo.
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    24 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Re: Flux coated rods

I wouldn't use it. I have. That's why I wouldn't atmo. Paste only. So, what is your experience with the product?

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Quote Originally Posted by e-RICHIE View Post
    I wouldn't use it. I have. That's why I wouldn't atmo. Paste only. So, what is your experience with the product?
    Thanks Richard. I have limited experience with it in some former steel work that I've done. It works well for plate welds and such. Was wondering how it would do with thin bike tubes.

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    24 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Quote Originally Posted by bikecycology View Post
    Thanks Richard. I have limited experience with it in some former steel work that I've done. It works well for plate welds and such. Was wondering how it would do with thin bike tubes.
    It would do very well left at the supplier's warehouse atmo. I am a huge paste flux zealot and am often not happy unless the work is buried under it first, and there's also a light film all over my wrists and forearms in case I need a dab late in the burn. #don'ttrythisathome
    Last edited by e-RICHIE; 02-22-2014 at 06:55 AM.

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

When I started building all we could source was Allstate flux coated rod (silver). Very soon my boss got a can of powder flux that we mixed with water. seemed to make things go far better and clean off easier. Very soon we were breaking off the flux coating on the rod before brazing.