Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Basic Tig

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Basic Tig

I'm a hobbyist builder. No plans of ever becoming a proffesional. I don't have an own workshop but I can use the great one we got at work as much as I like. I learnt everything I know about frame building from different frame building forums, including how to fillet braze. Unfortunately we recently decided to let go of our Acetylene/oxygen setup so now I'm left with the Tig welding machine. I can join two pieces of metal with it but that's about it. If I am ever to build a frame using Tig I need to practice, a lot. I realize this will be much tougher than learning how to fillet braze but I'll give it a try.

To get me started, could someone point me in the right directions when it comes to Tig settings for welding a frame, diameter of filling rod, cup size etc.

I got plenty of thin walled tubes and sheet metal of mild steel. Is it a bad idea practicing on mild steel. Will it behave differently to 4130?

What would you recommend me to start practice with?

Thanks!

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Re: Basic Tig

Practice your technique on whatever scrap you have- start with lap joints on flat stock without filler- that's the absolute easiest weld to learn. Mild steel is fine, just practice- over and over again until they're perfect. Figure in rough terms 1 amp per .001" in thickness to start, using DC for steel. Try using 1/8" thick material for starters, not too thick, not too thin- forgiving and easy.

I'm no pro but I'm sure you'll get good advice here.

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)