User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Distributor vs. Dealer vs. Jobber on parts.

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Distributor vs. Dealer vs. Jobber on parts.

Good morning fellas. I'm curious as to how you go about gathering components when you build up your frames. My day job is in the automotive world and I have several accounts with various vendors that give better rates to shops rather than full retail. I assume cycling components work the same way? For the gentlemen that build multiple customer bikes a year, how do you go about establishing these relationships with parts manufacturers?

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    17 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

Default Re: Distributor vs. Dealer vs. Jobber on parts.

The same applies in the cycling industry. I have several direct OE accounts with component manufacturers (Fox, Cane Creek, Stan's, Chris King, Industry Nine, Paul Components, Phil Wood, Shimano, Hayes, ENVE to name a few) and I have a few accounts with distributors (QBP, Security Bicycle Products and a few others). The M.O. is a simple phone call, introduction and kind request/inquiry regarding establishing an OEM account. Some don't require much of anything while others require everything including the kitchen sink with signatures and handshakes. All need some sort of proof that you are a business so web url, images of your shop inside and out, Federal ID No., references from other OE accounts, proof of liability insurance, state resale number (NH does not require one, so I have to state this each time with a link to the Secretary of the State's web address covering this), etc.