Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Utility Trailers

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Utility Trailers

I've got some ideas rolling around in my head (along with some marbles) of a utility trailer that I want to make. Mostly just to haul stuff, maybe yard debris, groceries, trips to the store, etc. I'm not a hippy, and there is nothing wrong with hippies, but I sometimes go through an "anti-car" phase. I'm just curious what some of you folks have built, or seen, that you thought was interesting.

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    58 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Re: Utility Trailers

Heavy-Duty Bicycle Cargo Trailers | Bikes At Work <<< That. I've been using this for almost 5 yrs. and it has no flaws. If you are handy there is no reason you could not make this. The universal joint is brilliant, lets you lay your bike flat on the ground and trailer stays on two wheels. I despise single wheel trailers, been there and hated it.

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

I've built a few - double-sided wheels are stronger, but wider than stub-axle wheels. Old wheelchair wheels are good. Chariot make excellent hitches.

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Quote Originally Posted by Velo Wilco View Post
    I've got some ideas rolling around in my head (along with some marbles) of a utility trailer that I want to make. Mostly just to haul stuff, maybe yard debris, groceries, trips to the store, etc. I'm not a hippy, and there is nothing wrong with hippies, but I sometimes go through an "anti-car" phase. I'm just curious what some of you folks have built, or seen, that you thought was interesting.

Here's what I made for myself a couple of years ago, partly as a TIG practice exercise and partly because I was fed up of having to drive when picking up heavier/bulkier items,

Here's an example load,