User Tag List

Thread: Fork Offset Question.

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Fork Offset Question.

So I'm pretty new to the frame building game but anyway, I have a particular geometry in mind for a road bike for myself. I want to emulate a Cervelo R3 and I would like to run a 3T Funda fork on it. The (old) R3 uses a 3T fork with a 43mm offset. The 3T Funda Team can be had with either a 43mm or 49mm offset but the 3T Funda Pro only comes in a 49mm offset. I would actually like to run the Pro because it is less expensive and - because I'm really anal about things matching - I like the white stripes on the Pro as opposed to the red stripes on the Team.

So the question is what is this 6mm difference going to feel like? I currently ride a Look 586 that has 43mm of offset so I am used to it but I am also no spring chicken and I'm getting less aggressive when it comes to descending so maybe the 49mm offset would offer a little more comfort and slow things down a bit.

Input?

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Re: Fork Offset Question.

No. More offset makes for less trail, which will quicken things up, steering wise (given the same head tube angle).
    DT

http://www.mjolnircycles.com/

Some are born to move the world to live their fantasies...

"the fun outweighs the suck, and the suck hasn't killed me yet." -- chasea

"Sometimes, as good as it feels to speak out, silence is the only way to rise above the morass. The high road is generally a quiet route." -- echelon_john

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Offset, head angle, front center, chain stay length, seat angle, saddle setback, stem length etc. etc. etc. will all determine to the final outcome. Don't go by what the catalogue geometry table says either. Guranteed to not be what the frame actually is. Dial your position then build the bike to suit you.