Likes Likes:  0

Thread: Hey Sputnik Jig Owners

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Question Hey Sputnik Jig Owners

I just got a used Sputnik and am really excited but have a few questions. It doesn't look like one can fine-tune the BB shell center (side to side). It came with a spacer for 68 and 73mm shells which will be fine for lugless shells, but centering a lugged shell seems like it won't work. Am I missing something?

Thanks, Joel

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Re: Hey Sputnik Jig Owners

Joel,
    Sorry to thread jack, I'm just curious because I'm still learning about what's important in a jig. Are you saying you need the adjustment because the lugged shell can be slightly oversized to begin with? So when you build a lugged frame are you measuring the width and then dividing that by 2 to find your center?
    Thanks
    -Todd.

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Quote Originally Posted by ToddFarr View Post
    Joel,
    Sorry to thread jack, I'm just curious because I'm still learning about what's important in a jig. Are you saying you need the adjustment because the lugged shell can be slightly oversized to begin with? So when you build a lugged frame are you measuring the width and then dividing that by 2 to find your center?
    Thanks
    -Todd.
    The problem I see is that all BB shells are different widths, so if you're indexing off the right side, the center will be in a different place every time. This isn't such a big deal if you BB shell center is defined, but lugged BB shells have a defined center.

I've already got an idea for a simple part I can make and I have enough metal to do it so I'll start tonight and take pics.

-Joel

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

In practice it hasn't been an issue for me.

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged