Likes Likes:  0

Thread: Garden + Gun

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Garden + Gun

About 6 months ago Garden and Gun started arriving in my mailbox (along with muscle and fitness--I did not order either).

I generally don't like the magazine (I think its tagline should read, "A magazine that celebrates the rich, white family for the rich, white family by rich, white families." I think I've only seen 6 people of color in all the issues I've received. I'm also a half hispanic art teacher working in the CalState higher-ed system so I recognize a lot of the stuff the magazine celebrates just goes over my head by a lot) HOWEVER, the current issue kind've rocks.

"The Ultimate Biscuit Stop"
    "The Secret to Perfect Pickles"
    "The South's Finest Gun Engraver"
    "The Creative Class: Introducing the South's new tastemakers"
    "The Arbiter of Taste" (about Van Winkle bourbon)

AND

4 black people made it into the magazine!

I just finished reading the magazine and realized that I want a biscuit, an engraved gun, a $500 bottle of bourbon and a hunting dog. I think I could get all of that stuff here at Rosco's Chicken and Waffels (though the quality won't be the same).

Cheers!
    elysian
    Tom Tolhurst

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Re: Garden + Gun

G&G is my favorite magazine not named The Atlantic.

Don't take this the wrong way, but you're not their target demographic. Not because you're half hispanic, but because you don't live in, or pine for, the American South. The entire magazine rests on the assumption that its reader does.