Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: chainstay bridge?

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default chainstay bridge?

Hello!:) New to this forum, so in short I am a 30 year old teacher from sweden who has a passion for cyclocross, mountainbiking, and drinking coffee in my armchair in between. I am building my second frame, which is for a cx-bike, and wondered if you would say that the bottom bracket I have eliminates the need for a chainstay bridge? This is what it looks like:
    //Henrik

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Re: chainstay bridge?

Theoretically, yes, but the cat who designed that shell will probably be in soon to smack me around a bit. However, it will also probably depend somewhat on chainstay length. If you're at 415 or less, you're fine.
    Pete Ruckelshaus * Teacher, Fat Guy on a Bike * Collegeville, PA

pruckelshaus' flickr
    Framejig.wordpress.com effort to collect DIY framebuilding jig designs

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

There is no "need" for a chain stay bridge. If you have no desire to ever mount a rear fender I'd leave off the chain stay bridge. On a cross bike the bridge tends to collect mud. On my race cross bikes I leave off the bridge and leave the bb shell web. If I use a bridge then I remove the bb shell web. There is no wrong answer though. Well unless you put in a bridge and leave the web. That just looks silly.

Better to be ruined than to be silent atmo.
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    24 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Quote Originally Posted by pruckelshaus View Post
    ...to smack me around a bit.

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Quote Originally Posted by Curt Goodrich View Post