User Tag List

Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: pinning in classic frame building atmo -

Better to be ruined than to be silent atmo.
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    24 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default pinning in classic frame building atmo -

this went live today -

Frame building pinning/tacking

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Re: pinning in classic frame building atmo -

Really cool, I'm a welder myself but I have total respect. Have you ever experienced hearth brazing? A buddy of mine is a blacksmith and we are going to braze some rivets in on some table leg joints, just for fun. Powder flux and some LF bronze. We will see.

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    24 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Quote Originally Posted by vulture View Post
    Have you ever experienced hearth brazing?
    in london, all the main tube and fork brazing at the shop was done in the hearth. we used it at the front end at witcomb usa. the ordeal is over-romanticized atmo. the hearth is just a pile of fire bricks that trap heat that comes off a torch and bounces it back at the far side of whatever is leaning up against it. it's not even terribly old tech; it's no tech. and the torches we used ran on town gas and put out flames nearly 20" long. there's would be no reason on earth to continue the process in a studio where oxyacetylene torches, fixtures, silver alloy rod, and 20th century processes are employed.

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

That reminds me, is pinning the seat stays to the lug recommended for side tacked joints? Have you seen that joint pop more often if it isn't pinned?

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Quote Originally Posted by vulture View Post