Likes Likes:  0

Thread: Duck.

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Duck.

Tips? Tricks? Never roasted one before - gonna give a 5lb bird a go tonight.

Plan:

-Disposable roasting pan+rack
    -Pierce carcass all over to fat, but not to meat
    -Truss/trim fat and extra skin, remove entrails
    -Boiling water over bird, pat dry
    -Salt/pepper liberally
    -Roast at 425 30 mins, turn/pierce bird, 30 more mins with a turn and pierce, then 20 minutes, remove fat (and jar it!), glaze bird with a mix of honey/orange juice/molasses/cayenne, roast ten more minutes.

Am I missing anything? Definitely planning on some rocktacular stock after we've picked it clean (including organs), something I've never done before either.

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Re: Duck.

Sounds like you’ve got it.
    To be extra fancy, score the skin in little X shapes and stick a clove in a handful of them.
    Put half an orange or lemon and half a small onion in the cavity.
    Tilt the pan and use a baster to remove the fat each time you turn the bird, to avoid it burning on the bottom of the pan.
    I go lower with temps and longer in the oven, but that’s just ATMO.
    my name is Matt

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

That sounds like it'll turn out great to me. I've done ducks a few ways before. Sometimes I'll take it apart and do something with the legs (confit or braise) and then i'll sear/roast the breast quickly and serve it pink over something delicious, or make duck ham... A few years ago for thanksgiving I did a duck but I roasted it at 250 for 5 or 6 hours untill it was entirely cooked through and the skin was so incredibly brown and crispy and that was delicious. It depends whether or not you like pink duck. Some people don't.