Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: More Experienced Brazing Techniques

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default More Experienced Brazing Techniques

I have heard of, although haven't witnessed, brazing techniques for pulling the frame one way or another in order to make it come out of the jig more aligned. I have been fillet-brazing for about 3 yrs. now and would like to learn a more advanced method. Would anyone like to shine some light on this subject?

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Re: More Experienced Brazing Techniques

I do a full tinning while the frame is in the jig and I let it cool there. When I remove it it's right on straight.

Then when laying the fillets I work each joint in quadrants. I do 1/4 going clockwise and then the next counter-clockwise and so on until the joint is done. This gives very good results in the end.

Dave
    D. Kirk
    Kirk Frameworks Co.
    www.kirkframeworks.com

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

A similar but slightly different approach here. We do our tacking in the jig and ONLY tack in the center of the joints. ie. top and bottom. This way, any temperature related movement is in a vertical plane. Once the tacks are cool, the frame comes out of the jig, into a Park stand for the first and second passes. We do those in a similar manner as Dave in that we take each joint in quadrants; right-top, left-top, right-bottom, left-bottom. Because you are not welding, any "pulling" is so minimal that cold setting, if you still need to do it, will be minimal. In fact, for us, needing to set the front triangle means that we made a mistake somewhere along the line.
    Tom Kellogg
    Rides bikes, used to make 'em too.
    Spectrum-Cycles.com
    Butted Ti Road, Reynolds UL, Di2, QuarQ, Conour lite, SP Zero
    Steel Cross, X-7, Crank Bros, Concour Lite, Nemesis, Grifo