Thread: Wade Patton Velo

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Wade Patton Velo

Call Me Late Bloomer

I had some metal shop training as a part of the high-school agriculture program back in the late 70's when I was a kid. Arc welding, gas welding, brazing, cutting, and much more were a part of the larger program which also included plumbing (cutting/threading real pipes), wiring, and carpentry. We did all of this for a grade at 14-15 years of age. No one ever suggested that any one of these shop stations could also be a station in life. They were all simply a part of the self-sufficiency training deemed appropriate for farm boys in those days. I wasn't a true farm-boy, but i found the ag elective to be more interesting than any alternatives.

College sounded like a must-do, but I had no idea what I wanted to do for a living--much less what degree to acquire. I was the first in my family to go to college, the first to have a real "career planning opportunity". I wasted that. Flip of the coin selected "Pre-law" over "Pre-med". So there, all I had to do was graduate and then get a law degree and then make a killing and have plenty of money to do the things I really wanted to do.

So I dicked around in college, eventually got the degree and barely squeaked into law school. Law School was just as hard as they say, where again I dicked around and got the degree-eventually. I then failed the bar exam on the first go 'round. No big deal, lots of folks take it more than once and I didn't have any payments to make.