Likes Likes:  0

Thread: Bassoon Reeds

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Bassoon Reeds

I know there are some music enthusiasts here and figured that it might be fun to outline the process that all of us double reed players have to go through as part of playing our instruments. I hope that there aren't any accomplished players lurking... I'm by no means a pro at this.

I buy my cane (species: arundo donax) already gouged, shaped and profiled. The tools to do these steps cost upwards of $6k so only the most committed do these themselves. Pieces come flat ready to be formed into blanks.

part1.jpg

After soaking the pieces, the cane is folded and wires are wrapped to hold the tube shape and allow for adjustment later.

part2.jpg

Thread helps support the cane as a mandrel is used to bend the two flat pieces into a round tube. About 1 out of every 10 or so just splits and is lost.

part3.jpg

After the tube is formed, the lower reed is sealed using clear nail polish and then wrapped with thread. The fancy wrapped thread is kind of a nod to tradition, as waxed thread would be used to seal the tube 100 years ago. Now it just gives some support and a nice place to hold, but I couldn't imagine making a reed without the wrap.

part4.jpg

The blank is finished and will sit for 3 weeks to settle.

part5.jpg

The finishing of the reed controls the tone and response. A ledge is cut to make a clear divider between tube (not vibrating) and beak (vibrating).

part6.jpg

After some rough filing to get the shape close, the tip is cut to make the opening.

part7.jpg