User Tag List

Page 1 of 7 1234567 LastLast

Thread: Could anyone spare some time to answer a few questions?

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Could anyone spare some time to answer a few questions?

Hello everyone and Happy New Year!
    I hope you all had a great holiday.
    I’ve been lurking around on the forum absorbing information for a while but have not posted or introduced myself.
    My name is Simon, I’m in my final year of study on a 3D Design degree here in London.
    I am about to attempt to start building my first (lugged) frame after much reading, preparation and mitring/brazing practice (thanks everyone for the wealth of information on here that has got me this far).
    I’m currently writing a dissertation tentatively titled: The resurgence of the hand-crafted bicycle: A result of a return to ethical making processes or fashionably ‘authentic’ consumption?
    I was wondering if anyone would be willing to answer a few questions that will help me with this dissertation?
    I hope it’s OK to start a thread on here to ask this (I’m not really sure of forum rules/etiquette regarding something like this, especially this being my second post). Please let me know if it’s not good form or if this is in the wrong area and I’ll remove it.
    I thought this might be the best way of gaining some information and opinions from framebuilders without cold-emailing and bothering the builders who are either too busy or taking valuable time from those who are too polite to not ignore my email.
    This way no one need feel bad if you don't want to reply and I don't feel as if I'm bothering individuals who are not interested.
    Below are the list of questions I've compiled (there are rather a lot of them, sorry!)
    Apologies if some of the questions may be a little obvious or you've heard (and answered) a lot of them before but I need to show evidence of primary research.