Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Stocks 101

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Stocks 101

I'm no pro, but will start with a very basic that someone else can expound upon. Make your own stocks! Everything else flows from this.

A whole roasted chicken gives my wife and I a couple/few dinners. Then boil the carcass with carrot, onion, celery, bay leaves etc and throw the stock in the freezer. A duck is even better. Slightly less meat, but pour off the fat and it will keep in the fridge forever (great for roasting potatoes) and the stock has more flavor.

Make sure you always have a buncha frozen types of stock in pint/quart sizes in the freezer. Use for risotto, cooking vegetables, short ribs, etc. I haven't done a Demi glace, but someone in the main cooking thread went into that at one point.
    I have been starting BBQ ribs on the stove lately as if doing short ribs before moving to the grill. Probably anathema to the genuine article, but it works for me.
    my name is Matt

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default re: Stocks 101

Here now is the thread on Stocks. (playing with these shiny new mod buttons)

Each year i think i'll do something with all those carcasses from holiday eats. mebbe this year is the one. i DO now always save the drippings from the BBQ. collect it all, put in fridge, then skim off the fat.

"BBQ jelly" it is and i'm just learning what all i can do with that. it's awesome for seasoning up some beans, hell, it's good on a cracker! short life span though, i may start freezing it.

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    58 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Great thread.
    When I cook an whole turkey the bones minus the fat are broken into manageable pieces and frozen.