User Tag List

Likes Likes:  0

Thread: Living in America... or anywhere else for that matter.

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Living in America... or anywhere else for that matter.

OK, way OT for this board. My wife and I are entertaining living and working abroad with our four kids for a few years. I work as a designer in the power industry and my wife is an executive PA at the moment. Kids all under 10. Sooo, my question is where is a good place to live, work, ride in the U.S.? I found a job in Denver and really like the idea of living at the foot of the mountains there. What is Denver like? Are there better places? Obviously job opportunities for me are a priority and will dictate to some level. I know it's a big broad general question with answers that will be swayed by personal preferences and bias. This will do for now. I am sure I will have other questions. Europe is also on the radar but language will be an issue there.

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Re: Living in America... or anywhere else for that matter.

while denver is close to the mountains, it is not in the mountains. it's a decent length drive to ski, hike, or ride in the mountains. not horrible, but don't mislead yourself into thinking you'll climb 4000 ft passes out your back door.

northern california is nice, though jobs may be harder to come by. i'm a huge fan of montana, but jobs are going to be even harder to come by there (but if you find some, let me know!).

if you're not opposed to the strong presence of religion, salt lake city has a lot to offer and is much more in the mountains than denver. some find the large mormon population to be a turn off though.

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)