Thread: Questions about flux for silver brazing

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Questions about flux for silver brazing

Hey guys,

I've been plodding along trying to build my first lugged steel frame. I have been practicing brazing using 45% silver brazing rods and Stay-Silv Black flux (active 1000-1800 degrees F). For some reason though, I can't seem to get the tubes hot enough to melt the silver and draw it through without charring the hell out of my flux. Generally, when it's getting towards green, the tube is just approaching the temperature I need melt the silver. However, most of the time it turns black and is stuck on the tube before I can get the silver to melt. So I pose my question to you all: what flux do you use for silver brazing (i'll be using 56 and 45% rods)?

Also, I am a total newb and do not have an oxy-acetylene torch (nor the funds for one). I've been using a MAPP air torch that seems to get things more than hot enough, though I know it's not totally ideal.

Thanks for any and all suggestions.

Darius

Better to be ruined than to be silent atmo.
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    24 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Re: Questions about flux for silver brazing

You are going to have to lose the MAPP gas, find the funds, and use a proper oxyacetylene torch setup atmo. I know some folks
    use the black flux but I don't recommend it. I use Handy + Harmon white paste flux (Handy Flux??). PS why the variations in rods?

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

I bought the cheaper rods to play around with brazing. I'm following this book and the author suggests using 45 for the BB lug and 56 for the rest of the joints. Is there no way to do it with MAPP? I know oxy-acetylene is much, much preferred, but is there no way with MAPP?

I'll take a look at that flux. Thanks again for your help!

Darius

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)