Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Taking a train from London to Venice

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Taking a train from London to Venice

Has anybody here gone on such an excursion? It looks like a 20 hour trip and we are not in any particular hurry to get from one place to another so pros, cons and other advice is welcome. Thanks
    rw saunders
    hey, how lucky can one man get.

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Re: Taking a train from London to Venice

Do they still smoke in EuroRail cars?

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

I haven't along this route but I have some train experience in Europe, but mostly not as a tourist.

You should visit the websites of the various nations' railways in advance. Also, because I go to Switzerland, I downloaded their train system app: SBB Mobile. It's really good. Europeans are probably far more advanced with this stuff than we are in the states.

Also, go first class. Don't fool around with the other classes if this is a vacation. Trains can be crowded otherwise.

My experience with Swiss and German trains is very, very good. The Dutch trains were fine but had big delays the day I used them. Know nothing of British trains but what I have heard hasn't all been flattering.

Quote Originally Posted by caleb View Post
    Do they still smoke in EuroRail cars?
    AFAIK, mostly not. There may still be the occasional smoking section but it's not nearly as ubiquitous as it once was. Additionally, Europeans have become almost as draconian, if not more so, about smoking in a lot of enclosed places. Your image of the 1980s and 1990s is no longer the way it is WRT smoking in Europe. At least that is my experience.
    Last edited by Saab2000; 01-21-2019 at 02:35 PM.
    La Cheeserie!

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)