Thread: Nox Composites Farlow 29 Carbon Wheelset

Post Thanks / Like

Default Nox Composites Farlow 29 Carbon Wheelset

I just received a set of wheel that I have been agonizing over for the past 6 months. I was interested in trying some wider rims for my 29er. I've owned some Edge/Enve road products over the last 7 or 8 years and loved everyone of them, but I wasn't willing to shell out Enve dollars for the mountain bike. I just don't ride mountain as much as road and couldn't justify the expense. I started looking at Derby and Nox because I had heard good things about both. I ended up going with Nox mainly because I do quite a bit of business travel to Knoxville Tennessee, and I figured I would keep my money (somewhat) local.
    The next issue was which rim? I thought I had decided on the 26mm Teocalli, but I kept going back to the 29mm Farlow. I like to ride with a 2.4" Maxxis Ardent on the front and a 2.2-2.25 tire on the rear, depending on the season. I'm using an Ardent on the read now, but I will likely change to something less aggressive when the trails firm up in the summer. I felt like the Farlow would be fine for my 2.4 front, but the 26mm Teoocalli would fit the smaller rear. After talking to a Nox representative, I decided on the wider wheel.