User Tag List

Thread: XTR M9000 rear brake refuses to bed in - behave

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Angry XTR M9000 rear brake refuses to bed in - behave

I like to perform my own bicycle mechanical maintenance, both to save money and because I really enjoy it. I have been doing my own mechanics on both my road and MTB for a decade so I have some experience - most of it very good..........

However, back in early Oct '18 I commenced a Yeti SB6c frame build. I purchased a pair of new XTR 9000 series brakes. I also purchased a pair of Shimano Ice Tech rotors for the build.

My problem with the rear brake is now truly epic. I've put together 3 other hydraulic brakes MTB's before this build - no problems with anything before, a bit of brake squeal to begin with but after some braking runs all runs as it should. Occasionally I've had to sand back a pair of pads but nothing like the current issues I'm having.

I've put in so much work and ridden up my local steep hill so many times now that I'm just jacked off with the entire thing.

The initial build was with Ice Tech rotors - front brake no problem - rear brake shocking squeal - mega decibels like none I've heard before - really loud stuff.

So I have done the following over the past 3 months :-

Emptied the rear brake line and replaced with brand new mineral oil - bled it out for 45 min then left it over night to bleed out the last bubbles.
    Cleaned the entire caliper and rotor with brake cleaner
    Replaced the OEM resin pads with brand new Shimano resin pads
    Performed multiple bedding in runs on the new resin pads - no difference
    Replaced the resin pads with Shimano metal pads
    Performed even more bedding runs - no difference
    Replaced the caliper mounting bolts
    Bled the entire line out overnight again
    Ditched the Ice Tech rotors and replaced with standard solid steel Shimano rotors