Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: bikes getting longer, I am not getting taller

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default bikes getting longer, I am not getting taller

I am studying Lee McCormack's method of fitting, getting body in shape, and practicing skills right now. (Just exploring ideas for science' sake.) His main point about bike fit is that the only thing that matters in the end is the distance from the rider's feet to the grips. He calls this RAD or Rider Area Distance. There is more than one way to achieve your RAD that results in a more upright position for gravity-oriented riders, low position for XC racers, and some options in between. I have heard others call it "room" or "effective downtube" (maybe I made that last one up).

He has a simple calculator to determine your ideal RAD and another to help you figure out how to get there by means of stem and handlebar dimensions. These result in what I would call "effective reach" and "effective stack" because it tells the whole story about where your grips end up relative to the BB. Geometrically, RAD is the hypotenuse of a triangle formed from your effective reach and effective stack. I imagine the calculator has some formulas behind it built upon averages based on a huge database he has of previous riders' dimensions.

He gives some advice about saddle position, but saddle position take a back seat (har har!) to getting your hands in a position that maximizes range of motion and stability relative to where your feet are. I agree with this concept because most other methods I have read focus on your sitting position on a trainer, which is useless as soon as the bike is leaned over or pointed up or down any sort of slope. He as a more complex calculator that takes into account non-average body proportions (aberrations in arm and leg length, mostly), but the standard calculator worked for me.