User Tag List

Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: When a torque wrench starts to lose accuracy...

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    462
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default When a torque wrench starts to lose accuracy...

    What typically happens? Does it indicate that you've reached the desired torque BEFORE you actually got there (under-torqued)? Or, AFTER you got there (over-torqued)?

    The cheapo I've had for years seems to be under-torquing. I was just playing around with the itsy-bitsy Silca torque thingy, and it seems to think that the bolts tightened to 5 Nm on the cheapo has some ways to go in order to reach 5 Nm.
    Chikashi Miyamoto

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Berkeley, CA
    Posts
    385
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: When a torque wrench starts to lose accuracy...

    If the attached component doesn't slip, does it matter if the bolt is torqued to less than manufacturer's maximum recommendation?
     

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    462
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: When a torque wrench starts to lose accuracy...

    Quote Originally Posted by snotrockets View Post
    If the attached component doesn't slip, does it matter if the bolt is torqued to less than manufacturer's maximum recommendation?
    Does it matter what the question is if there is something else that could be said?
    Chikashi Miyamoto

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Berkeley, CA
    Posts
    385
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: When a torque wrench starts to lose accuracy...

    Quote Originally Posted by Chik View Post
    Does it matter what the question is if there is something else that could be said?
    On the internets? Never!
     

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    4,967
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: When a torque wrench starts to lose accuracy...

    In my experience (CDI presets, 4, 5, and 6nm and Park 4 - 6 adjustable T-handle), the torque wrench shoots low. Meaning it's telling you 5nm, but in reality it's less.
    -Dustin

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    462
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: When a torque wrench starts to lose accuracy...

    Quote Originally Posted by dashDustin View Post
    In my experience (CDI presets, 4, 5, and 6nm and Park 4 - 6 adjustable T-handle), the torque wrench shoots low. Meaning it's telling you 5nm, but in reality it's less.
    That seems consistent with my episode. Thanks.
    Chikashi Miyamoto

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    seattle
    Posts
    227
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: When a torque wrench starts to lose accuracy...

    what's the simplest way to check accuracy after a few years of use?
     

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    DC
    Posts
    23,895
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: When a torque wrench starts to lose accuracy...

    Find your local SnapOn truck and leave it with him.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    victoria, bc
    Posts
    1,811
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: When a torque wrench starts to lose accuracy...

    Lots of us use effete mariposa not cdi

    If you look up your wrench it should have a number of cycles before calibration. If you are stressed or think you are close send it in
     

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    462
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: When a torque wrench starts to lose accuracy...

    Quote Originally Posted by andrew flowers View Post
    Lots of us use effete mariposa not cdi

    If you look up your wrench it should have a number of cycles before calibration. If you are stressed or think you are close send it in
    The guys at my LBS use one, so I was handling it one day and felt that EM is not the easiest to set, with all those teeny weeny lines so close to each other. Of course, I also have certain preconceived notions about precision instruments made in Italy, so there's an undeniable bias against it.

    I suppose that I should just take a chill pill, especially given that their recalibration service is done in Switzerland, not in Italy... :)
    Chikashi Miyamoto

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Carrollton TX
    Posts
    357
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: When a torque wrench starts to lose accuracy...

    An aside:
    I recently bought a torque wrench.
    I chose a beam wrench just for this reason.
    They NEVER go out of calibration.
    Mark Walberg
    Building bike frames for fun since 1973.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    4,967
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: When a torque wrench starts to lose accuracy...

    Quote Originally Posted by Mark Walberg View Post
    An aside:
    I recently bought a torque wrench.
    I chose a beam wrench just for this reason.
    They NEVER go out of calibration.
    one of our riders got a little tiny beam one off Amazon to fit in her travel case. fits in the palm of her hand, and her post hasn't slipped yet. thinking about picking one up...kinda hard to pass up at only $25.
    -Dustin

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    32
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: When a torque wrench starts to lose accuracy...

    Is calibration a moot point when the majority of torque spec's for bike bits is shown without any info on greased bolt vs dry being part of spec, or whether it is static or dynamic torque? If we're all going around making armchair assumption, is calibration of the tool our burning issue? Asking for a friend..
     

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    victoria, bc
    Posts
    1,811
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: When a torque wrench starts to lose accuracy...

    Quote Originally Posted by Tom_Bishop View Post
    Is calibration a moot point when the majority of torque spec's for bike bits is shown without any info on greased bolt vs dry being part of spec, or whether it is static or dynamic torque? If we're all going around making armchair assumption, is calibration of the tool our burning issue? Asking for a friend..
    No

    Use good tools, the proper way, to the manufacturers specifications.

    Anything else is unnecessary liability
     

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Slummerville, MA
    Posts
    664
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: When a torque wrench starts to lose accuracy...

    Quote Originally Posted by andrew flowers View Post
    No

    Use good tools, the proper way, to the manufacturers specifications.

    Anything else is unnecessary liability
    you didn't read the question very closely; advising them to proceed via manufacturer's specs while they are questioning the efficacy/ambiguity of the manufacturer's spec.
    is there a standard assumption of circumstances for the adherence to torque specs? i.e., the bolts are greased and the torque is dynamic, is 9nm still an accurate setting?
    Quote Originally Posted by Sinclair View Post
    Give up cycling, keep riding the bike.

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Happy Valley, PA
    Posts
    3,366
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: When a torque wrench starts to lose accuracy...

    smart manufacturers specify greased or non-greased (more rare, I think). It's significant, clamping force is less at a given torque if the fastener is dry. What major manufacturer doesn't specify? Seems like Shimano and SRAM always say to grease fasteners.
     

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    victoria, bc
    Posts
    1,811
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: When a torque wrench starts to lose accuracy...

    Quote Originally Posted by seanile View Post
    you didn't read the question very closely; advising them to proceed via manufacturer's specs while they are questioning the efficacy/ambiguity of the manufacturer's spec.
    is there a standard assumption of circumstances for the adherence to torque specs? i.e., the bolts are greased and the torque is dynamic, is 9nm still an accurate setting?
    No, I did read it closely

    you do what you can

    some products list fastener prep, others you have to guess...

    the only difference is thread retention or grease

    otherwise prep is based on material

    don't always trust the manufacturer either. Early 3t team stems had blue locktite on Ti bolts and cracked like crazy, even with a torque wrench

    Personally, listed torque is usually a reinforcement of what I already expect. It is when I see a value far different than I anticipate that special attention is paid.
     

Similar Threads

  1. Torque Wrench (Again)
    By MarkC in forum VSalon Pro-Bicycle Tech
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-16-2018, 05:44 AM
  2. Torque wrench recommendations?
    By Disturbed in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 03-01-2013, 07:18 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •