User Tag List

Thread: Point me to the RTFM on disc brakes

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Point me to the RTFM on disc brakes

I'm totally new to the technology. Here's the situation - brand spanking new (like 150 miles total) front caliper of a very good group that shall remain nameless unless it matters drags just a bit. The bike was assembled by somebody that certainly knows what they are doing. It looks like one pad doesn't retract. I can push on that little tiny tab on the top where the pin goes through them and it clears just fine like the other one. Clamp the brakes, release, there's a little bit of drag again. A little drag as in it comes to a stop quicker than it might at very low speed and the valve stem doesn't fall to 6 o'clock. It didn't start like that, it rolled beautifully, I just noticed it today.

It seems as if only a few miles like that wouldn't already have met a service interval or I'm going to be stopping in the middle of rides to work on the bike. There's a little dirt and dust on it but nothing ridiculous.

So, I'm thinking there has to be a decent write up on these things I should be checking out because I don't want to start trying this and trying that (I know some of the obvious things like don't get any grease or goo or oil on the pads, don't squeeze the brakes with nothing in there, that kind of thing) without having any idea what I am doing. Also what do I really care about? A little drag with no noise, does it matter? In my mind it sure does but I also might not know what I am talking about. Wait... I definitely don't know what I'm talking about, if I get something right it is an accident. So I definitely need to read up on these things.

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Re: Point me to the RTFM on disc brakes