User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Packable chain pliers. Are they necessary?

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Packable chain pliers. Are they necessary?

What is it that I don't get about the usefulness of chain pliers on the trail? I've been riding mountain bikes for nearly 30 years and have been doing just fine with a mini chain tool for the duration. In that time, I've had a few twisted chains, popped outer plates and broken quick links (SRAM) and my solution has always been the same; remove the offending amount of chain and reassemble. I still carry my difficult to use but effective chain pup, a couple of pins and a Shimano master link. If I have to use the master link, I'll assemble it above the stay and use crank pressure to pop into place.

What type of situation would have to present itself to need to remove a reuse-able master link trailside?
    Sean Chaney
    www.vertigocycles.com
    a peek behind the curtain

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Re: Packable chain pliers. Are they necessary?

Quote Originally Posted by VertigoCycles View Post
    What is it that I don't get about the usefulness of chain pliers on the trail? I've been riding mountain bikes for nearly 30 years and have been doing just fine with a mini chain tool for the duration. In that time, I've had a few twisted chains, popped outer plates and broken quick links (SRAM) and my solution has always been the same; remove the offending amount of chain and reassemble. I still carry my difficult to use but effective chain pup, a couple of pins and a Shimano master link. If I have to use the master link, I'll assemble it above the stay and use crank pressure to pop into place.

What type of situation would have to present itself to need to remove a reuse-able master link trailside?
    Ignorance and not enough hugs as a child. Just a guess.

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned