Results 4,121 to 4,130 of 4130

Thread: Automobiles

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Re: Automobiles

treadonme, lets say you buy the car for 22K. The IMS bearing is "only" about 2K. No reason not to go get that done right away for piece of mind. If you take a chance on it and lunch your engine, your 22K car is now a 37K car. There are probably better ways to spend 37K on an automobile than a 996.

I studied the 996 situation pretty carefully, but decided to get a S2000 instead. 996 values are starting to increase a bit - cars that were high teens 18 months ago are now low 20s. Good time to get in.
    "As an homage to the EPOdays of yore- I'd find the world's last remaining pair of 40cm ergonomic drop bars.....i think everyone who ever liked those handlebars in that shape and in that width is either dead of a drug overdose, works in the Schaerbeek mattress factory now and weighs 300 pounds or is Dr. Davey Bruylandts...who for all I know is doing both of those things." - Jerk

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

IMS usually just seeps. If they were made in England, folks would say its normal.

I love the 996 turbos and particularly the GT3s. Both are pretty high value in comparison to the regular 996s. They have very different and far superior motors and transmissions. But, if you get a regular old 996, expect to want to put some suspension on it and have it corner balanced.

The 996s are great driver's cars. Set up properly, you can really manipulate them with technique--you can induce understeer, oversteer, or neutrality, based on corner entry speed, throttle position, and trail braking. All Pcars, and especially the older ones, are happiest with the driver holding a fairly neutral throttle position during cornering.

Once you figure out how to drive a rear engine Pcar, you really get to love them.

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)