Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Softshells

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Softshells

We have bib and knicker threads, so I present to you a thread for softshells.

What are people using for breezy, maybe a little moist conditions in the low 50's down to let's say 40 degree temperatures?

I was "upstate" NY this weekend, ride started at 42 degrees, very breezy, finished at about 50 degrees. I had wool Rapha long sleeve jersey, wool s/s base layer, and a flimsy wind vest and the breeze basically went right through the wool. Even my arms were chilled, and that's uncommon. Nothing dangerous but got me wondering about soft shells. I have a 5+ year old Assos Bonka that I generally don't wear until it hits the 30's; otherwise, I start to overheat and perspire.

I keep getting drawn to the Velocio offerings, maybe because I get three advertising emails a day from them! I have limited experience with softshells so I'm looking for input as whether they work, do you size them to fit over multiple layers or just a base.

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Re: Softshells

Gabba long sleeve jersey.

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Quote Originally Posted by Lionel View Post
    Gabba long sleeve jersey.
    A good choice for wet weather, but not breathable enough if there's no precipitation. An alternative for windy, drier weather is Rapha's approach to jackets which is an insulated windproof front and breathable stretch back to let excess heat and moisture escape. I went from Castelli to Rapha and no longer have the "boil-in-the-bag" experience.

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

The S&S S1-J (Schoeller C-Change Fabric) is a great option. Paired with the appropriate base layer/s makes it pretty versatile.

S1-J Riding Jacket – Search and State

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)