User Tag List

Page 1 of 19 1234567891011 ... LastLast

Thread: Let's get very personal: Shoes. Cycling Shoes.

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Let's get very personal: Shoes. Cycling Shoes.

In my quest to replace my half size too small LG Carbon X-Lites I've been riding in for 5 years I have bought:
    - half size too small Mavic Cosmic Ultimate 1's- Which were the FINEST shoe I've ever held in my hand but not ridden.
    -Half size too big 2nd Gen Fizik R1 Uomo Non Boa- I had a pair of these and liked them for the 3 rides I did in them, just bought the wrong size this time

I resold both pairs for what I bought them for.

Now I landed upon some Bontrager RXL Road shoes in a 12 Wide. Weird, the 12 was too short but the 12 wide fit great. Possibly I have needed wide shoes to begin with and squeezing into narrow shoes was scrunching my foot and elongating my toes? Can that happen?

Anyhow- this is thems..

Bontrager RXL Road Shoes - Bird Legs Bicycles | Freedom on Wheels | Tallahassee Jacksonville Florida

They fit pretty good, but I have not heard great things about durability. I now know my size (using previous shoe sizing I was able to hunt down and measuring my foot and looking at Mondo Sizing/Japanese/CM sizing) and I really like Mavic shoes. I had a pair of Fury MTB shoes (Zxellium for MTB) and loved them.

I am debating whether or not to sell these and wait for a pair of Mavics to come around that i can afford, I would like the Cosmic Ultimate 1, or those Ksyrium Pro Boa but I have an opportunity to get a Spesh Expert Road for $140 also that fit really well from my bike sponsored store.

Thing is money constraint- I picked up the RXL's for $100 on blowout and I have a set of Keo cleats sitting at home waiting for a shoe to mount them to.