User Tag List

Page 33 of 39 FirstFirst ... 2324252627282930313233343536373839 LastLast
Results 641 to 660 of 761

Thread: 2019 Road Racing Season Omnibus (Spoilers Guaranteed)

  1. #641
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    5,074
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: 2019 Road Racing Season Omnibus (Spoilers Guaranteed)

    Surprised seeing Wiggins defend Valverde on Eurosport in the "ride after crash" incident. Hushovd and the other commentator completely disagreed with that. Me too...
     

  2. #642
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    15,238
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: 2019 Road Racing Season Omnibus (Spoilers Guaranteed)

    Sean Kelly said Movistar was not leading at the time of the crash, they only went to the front after the crash, and that they could claim none of the usual defenses. Kelly sounded pissed.

    Valverde got both barrels literally from an Astana rider - Fraile I think - who accidentally on-purpose blew his nose at Valverde.

    When Roglic returned to the front of the front group, Valverde disappeared to the rear.

    I can only imagine what was going on over race radio.
    Last edited by j44ke; 4 Weeks Ago at 09:41 PM.
    Jorn Ake
    poet

    Flickr
    Books

  3. #643
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    1,609
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: 2019 Road Racing Season Omnibus (Spoilers Guaranteed)

    What goes around comes around Astana. Remember when you attached Contador on the run up to the Mortirolo when he was on the side of the road?
     

  4. #644
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Stow, MA
    Posts
    2,453
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: 2019 Road Racing Season Omnibus (Spoilers Guaranteed)

    Desperation is the worst cologne...
    Guy Washburn

    Photography > www.guywashburn.com

    Steven Chu, a former Secretary of Energy who often gives talks on climate change, tells audiences that if cows were a country their emissions “would be greater than all of the E.U., and behind only China and America.” Every four pounds of beef you eat contributes to as much global warming as flying from New York to London—and the average American eats that much each month.

  5. #645
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    5,074
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: 2019 Road Racing Season Omnibus (Spoilers Guaranteed)

    I wonder how much real time influence social media has on the actual race situation. They said "Twitter is lighting up" 'In Spanish too". Apart from the race directors the public has it's say too?
     

  6. #646
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    15,238
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: 2019 Road Racing Season Omnibus (Spoilers Guaranteed)

    Now seems the story is orders to race came from the car and Valverde slowed everyone once he realized Roglic was down. Sean Kelly said Movistar just realized that the team would bury themselves and not make up enough time anyway and then they’d be worn out for today so slowing was just tactics not sportsmanship.

    Soap opera.
    Last edited by j44ke; 4 Weeks Ago at 09:08 AM.
    Jorn Ake
    poet

    Flickr
    Books

  7. #647
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    5,074
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: 2019 Road Racing Season Omnibus (Spoilers Guaranteed)

    Without Astana Roglics would have been toast. Interresting how the UCI interfered . Different versions of that story too. DS Movistar livid at the UCI for letting the cars bring the groups back. Then he calls Valverde to hold off. That was the live commentary.
     

  8. #648
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    15,238
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: 2019 Road Racing Season Omnibus (Spoilers Guaranteed)

    Pogacar basically froze Movistar in between going for 1st and preserving 2nd. Had to have the horsepower to get up the road but it was a great move.
     

  9. #649
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    4,471
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: 2019 Road Racing Season Omnibus (Spoilers Guaranteed)

    Pogacarrrrrrr!
     

  10. #650
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    380
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: 2019 Road Racing Season Omnibus (Spoilers Guaranteed)

    Quote Originally Posted by j44ke View Post
    Pogacar basically froze Movistar in between going for 1st and preserving 2nd. Had to have the horsepower to get up the road but it was a great move.
    The young man has the horsepower and good tactical sense. Either he or the director on the other end of the radio (or both) made a great call.

    Greg
     

  11. #651
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    15,238
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: 2019 Road Racing Season Omnibus (Spoilers Guaranteed)

    Here is the schedule for the World Championships, courtesy of CyclingFans.

    Sunday, September 22

    Team Time Trial Mixed Relay
    Start at 13:10 local, 14:10 CET, 8:10am ET
    Finish at 15:37 local, 16:37 CET, 10:37am ET

    Monday, September 23

    Junior Women's Individual Time Trial
    Start at 10:10 local, 11:10 CET, 5:10am ET
    Finish at 11:22 local, 12:22 CET, 6:22am ET

    Junior Men's Individual Time Trial
    Start at 13:10 local, 14:10 CET, 8:10am ET
    Finish at 16:41 local, 17:41 CET, 11:41am ET

    Tuesday, September 24

    Under 23 Men's Individual Time Trial
    Start at 10:10 local, 11:10 CET, 5:10am ET
    Finish at 12:29 local, 13:29 CET, 7:29am ET

    Elite Women's Individual Time Trial
    Start at 14:40 local, 15:40 CET, 9:40am ET
    Finish at 16:45 local, 17:45 CET, 11:45am ET

    Wednesday, September 25

    Elite Men's Individual Time Trial
    Start at 13:10 local, 14:10 CET, 8:10am ET
    Finish at 16:04 local, 17:04 CET, 11:04am ET

    Thursday, September 26

    Junior Men's Road Race
    Start at 12:10pm local, 13:10 CET, 7:10am ET
    Finish at 15:25 local, 16:25 CET, 10:25am ET

    Friday, September 27

    Junior Women's Road Race
    Start at 8:40 local, 9:40 CET, 3:40am ET
    Finish at 11:05 local, 12:05 CET, 6:05am ET

    Under 23 Men's Road Race
    Start at 14:10 local, 15:10 CET, 9:10am ET
    Finish at 19:21 local, 20:21 CET, 2:21pm ET

    Saturday, September 28

    Elite Women's Road Race
    Start at 11:40 local, 12:40 CET, 6:40am ET
    Finish at 15:36 local, 16:36 CET, 10:36am ET

    Sunday, September 29

    Elite Men's Road Race
    Start at 8:40 local, 9:40 CET, 3:40am ET
    Finish at 15:49 local, 16:49 CET, 10:49am ET
    Jorn Ake
    poet

    Flickr
    Books

  12. #652
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Stow, MA
    Posts
    2,453
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: 2019 Road Racing Season Omnibus (Spoilers Guaranteed)

    Chloe Dygert Owen wins elite women's individual time trial | Cyclingnews

    Chloe Dygert Owen wins the woman's worlds TT in dominating fashion...
    Guy Washburn

    Photography > www.guywashburn.com

    Steven Chu, a former Secretary of Energy who often gives talks on climate change, tells audiences that if cows were a country their emissions “would be greater than all of the E.U., and behind only China and America.” Every four pounds of beef you eat contributes to as much global warming as flying from New York to London—and the average American eats that much each month.

  13. #653
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    15,238
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: 2019 Road Racing Season Omnibus (Spoilers Guaranteed)

    Quote Originally Posted by guido View Post
    Chloe Dygert Owen wins elite women's individual time trial | Cyclingnews

    Chloe Dygert Owen wins the woman's worlds TT in dominating fashion...
    She is effing incredible.
    Jorn Ake
    poet

    Flickr
    Books

  14. #654
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    13,013
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: 2019 Road Racing Season Omnibus (Spoilers Guaranteed)

    Is Pucci racing the Mens Elite RR on Sunday? Or did he miss the registration deadline again?
    La Cheeserie!

  15. #655
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Stow, MA
    Posts
    2,453
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: 2019 Road Racing Season Omnibus (Spoilers Guaranteed)

    Guy Washburn

    Photography > www.guywashburn.com

    Steven Chu, a former Secretary of Energy who often gives talks on climate change, tells audiences that if cows were a country their emissions “would be greater than all of the E.U., and behind only China and America.” Every four pounds of beef you eat contributes to as much global warming as flying from New York to London—and the average American eats that much each month.

  16. #656
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Clemson SC
    Posts
    2,489
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: 2019 Road Racing Season Omnibus (Spoilers Guaranteed)

    lots of crashes in both TTs yesterday. technical course + typical English rain = kind of a mess.

    I hope its drier for the road races -- but Yorkshire in early fall is probably a bad idea for the Worlds.
    Robert Kendrick


    my small corner of the poetry world:

    http://robertleekendrick.net

    recent book

    https://irisbooks.com/product/what-o...th-brilliance/

  17. #657
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    15,238
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: 2019 Road Racing Season Omnibus (Spoilers Guaranteed)

    On today’s menu (so far): blacked out non-sponsor bikes and socks that are too long.
    Jorn Ake
    poet

    Flickr
    Books

  18. #658
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Stow, MA
    Posts
    2,453
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: 2019 Road Racing Season Omnibus (Spoilers Guaranteed)

    Rohan Dennis defends his world title in the Men's TT


    Brief Results #
    Rider Name (Country) Team Result
    1
    Rohan Dennis (Australia) 1:05:05
    2
    Remco Evenepoel (Belgium) 0:01:08
    3
    Filippo Ganna (Italy) 0:01:55
    4
    Patrick Bevin (New Zealand) 0:01:57
    5
    Alex Dowsett (Great Britain) 0:02:01
    6
    Lawson Craddock (United States) 0:02:07
    7
    Tanel Kangert (Estonia)
    8
    Nelson Oliveira (Portugal) 0:02:09
    9
    Tony Martin (Germany) 0:02:27
    10
    Stefan Kung (Switzerland) 0:02:46
    Guy Washburn

    Photography > www.guywashburn.com

    Steven Chu, a former Secretary of Energy who often gives talks on climate change, tells audiences that if cows were a country their emissions “would be greater than all of the E.U., and behind only China and America.” Every four pounds of beef you eat contributes to as much global warming as flying from New York to London—and the average American eats that much each month.

  19. #659
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    15,238
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: 2019 Road Racing Season Omnibus (Spoilers Guaranteed)

    I guess Dennis really doesn't like his Merida TT bike.
    Jorn Ake
    poet

    Flickr
    Books

  20. #660
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    13,013
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: 2019 Road Racing Season Omnibus (Spoilers Guaranteed)

    It would appear his decision to use the equipment of his choice is vindicated.
    La Cheeserie!

Similar Threads

  1. Cyclocross 2018/2019 - Spoilers
    By BSUdude in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 253
    Last Post: 04-12-2019, 05:55 PM
  2. Vuelta 2018 - Spoilers Guaranteed
    By j44ke in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 60
    Last Post: 09-19-2018, 02:58 AM
  3. The season starts this Saturday. (SPOILERS)
    By rabo in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 51
    Last Post: 02-27-2017, 10:42 PM
  4. Road racing Worlds [spoilers]
    By sk_tle in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 71
    Last Post: 09-29-2014, 11:07 PM
  5. CX Racing 2009 season
    By Too Tall in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 53
    Last Post: 09-17-2009, 02:18 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •