Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Garmin issue on the trainer

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    11,254
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Garmin issue on the trainer

    Got my bike set up for Zwift riding and I use the Garmin GSC-10 ANT+ sensor, which also transmits info to my Garmin 510. The first ride was decent but since then it's been cutting in and out. I've tried two GSC-10 sensors. I don't think it's the battery because this never happens on the road. Is it possible that the trainer is creating some static charge or other interference with the ANT+ signal?

    Anyone else ever have this? My Garmin will drop to zero and read "Auto Pause" then go back to speed, reading "Auto Resume" and I will not have changed a thing with my pedaling.

    Suggestions?

    Zwift (and the Garmin speed and distance readings) becomes unusable when my avatar rider just pulls off to the side of the road and sits there waiting for me to pedal when I'm already moving. It's frustrating.
     

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Miami, Florida
    Posts
    11,647
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Garmin issue on the trainer

    Maybe the battery is dying but out on the road the 510 is using gps to compensate?
     

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    11,254
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Garmin issue on the trainer

    Quote Originally Posted by Matthew Strongin View Post
    Maybe the battery is dying but out on the road the 510 is using gps to compensate?
    I'll try a new battery but it seems to do the same thing with more than one ANT+ unit.
     

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Miami, Florida
    Posts
    11,647
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Garmin issue on the trainer

    Quote Originally Posted by Saab2000 View Post
    I'll try a new battery but it seems to do the same thing with more than one ANT+ unit.
    Hmmmm, maybe some sort of contention between the ANT dongle on your computer and the garmin head unit? I haven't used zwift more than a handful of times, but don't recall having problems like that. I'm sure a more frequent user around here has some better ideas.
     

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    ATX
    Posts
    1,068
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Garmin issue on the trainer

    Two other possibilities:
    1: Are you using the "bike indoor" activity on the Garmin? If not, try it with that.
    2: Do you have auto-pause turned on? If yes, try turning that off.
    Nathan H

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    3,183
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Garmin issue on the trainer

    Quote Originally Posted by Tamu8104 View Post
    Two other possibilities:
    1: Are you using the "bike indoor" activity on the Garmin? If not, try it with that.
    2: Do you have auto-pause turned on? If yes, try turning that off.
    Agree with this. Maybe the Garmin is periodically picking up enough of a GPS signal to get confused. Also, I had problems with the Ant+ dongle when I first tried Zwift on an older MacBook. Using the Ant+ on my newer HP laptop has been no problem. Could it be your PC?
     

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Paris, TX
    Posts
    2,774
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Garmin issue on the trainer

    All the above. My Garmin used to try and recalculate based on a signal versus a speed/cadence signal. Sometimes the wheel size would recalculate as well.
    I heart burnt bikes.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    11,254
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Garmin issue on the trainer

    Quote Originally Posted by roseyscot View Post
    Agree with this. Maybe the Garmin is periodically picking up enough of a GPS signal to get confused. Also, I had problems with the Ant+ dongle when I first tried Zwift on an older MacBook. Using the Ant+ on my newer HP laptop has been no problem. Could it be your PC?
    I bought new batteries but forgot them in the car. It's now below 0F outside. I need to build up some bravery to run out and get them.

    GPS mode is off for now, as is the auto start/stop. But right now it's not plugged into the computer in any way. I'm just trying to get a speed/time/distance using the ANT+ wheel sensor connection to the GPS head unit. I'll worry about the Zwift later.
     

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    70
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Garmin issue on the trainer

    I've had this issue. There are two things which caused it for me.
    The biggest culprit is having the garmin express program open/running in the background.
    The other problem was a USB hub which caused interference. I always unplug that hub before using trainerroad or zwift and make sure garmin express is closed before even plugging my ant dongle in.
     

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    2,036
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Garmin issue on the trainer

    I was having a hell of a time with a new Kickr SNAP cutting out until I bought a ten foot USB cable and put the dongle right under the flywheel. That seems to be a common issue, interference from your wifi and everybody near you if they are on the same channel, bluetooth, the arcing transformer on the pole outside that's about to blow up...
     

Similar Threads

  1. Trainer - to FE-C or not to FE-C
    By Daschund in forum Oxygen Depraved
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-04-2016, 01:17 AM
  2. Garmin issue post-lunch on the D2
    By stnphoto in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 08-25-2015, 10:09 AM
  3. 1Up Trainer?
    By Andrevich4 in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 07-16-2015, 11:33 PM
  4. Garmin 510/810 Battery Issue:
    By false_aesthetic in forum VSalon Pro-Bicycle Tech
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-22-2013, 11:20 AM
  5. Tubular on a trainer?
    By d_douglas in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 10-31-2012, 06:19 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •