Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Trouble setting up Paul Minimotos

DrZRM is offline VSalonistas

Default Trouble setting up Paul Minimotos

I'm beginning to suspect there is an issue with this particular set of brakes, but I wanted to check with you good folks first. I've set cantis and v-brakes since the 80s, so I have some experience setting them up. On my Zanc CX frame I am running the new Paul's Minimotos, and I am having trouble getting the pads to sit low enough to contact the rim. On three of four pads when Kool Stops are at the bottom of the slot (and I know you get better leverage with the pads mounted higher if you can, I just can't) they line up fine, albeit near the top of the brake track. On the fourth (front wheel of course) while using pliers to hold the pad down when I tighten the bolt I can just barely get the pad on the brake track, and I worry that it is going to rub on the tire. I've considered filing out the slot or filing down the top of the pad with a dremel, but I figured I'd check here for suggestions for a more adjustable brake pad.

I'm running the Koolstop Cross pads as the long MTB pads that came with the brake (with the added rubber to rake mud off the rims) just did not back off the rims far enough for practicle use, and hit the fork blades when made pulling the wheel hard. Mini-vs in general run pretty close tolerances, and that pad just barely worked with a perfectly true rim.

Anyway, I thought about the TRP Adjust M pads, but wondered if anyone had good luck with that setup. Are there any threaded pads that are more adjustable that the ball socket thingies on the Koolstops. If not, any other way to slope threaded pads down?

Thanks.

It may just be where Mike placed the posts on this frame, I run TRP 8.4 on my other cross bike and did not run into this problem. I know I could switch them to check, and I likely will, but the TRPs look a bit "modern for a lugged frame."

donevwil is offline VSalonistas