Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Can you pair 2 powermeters to one Garmin?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Tucson
    Posts
    1,128
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Can you pair 2 powermeters to one Garmin?

    Wondering if you can pair two SRM's to the same Edge 500; anyone know/done this?

    Thanks
     

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    4,444
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Can you pair 2 powermeters to one Garmin?

    I used to use my 500 when testing customers' Quarqs (I had a wireless SRM).
     

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Tucson
    Posts
    1,128
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Can you pair 2 powermeters to one Garmin?

    Anything tricky required? My research is saying that when you pair a second one the first, initial, pairing is lost..
     

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    4,444
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Can you pair 2 powermeters to one Garmin?

    That is correct. Had to re-pair. What I didn't ever check was if switching to "Bike 2" would maintain initial pairing under "Bike 1".
     

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Stamford, CT
    Posts
    61
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Can you pair 2 powermeters to one Garmin?

    Set up a second bike profile with the new power meter. Bike 1 will have the old power meter, bike 2 the new one.
    www.ablocwheelworks.com/
    As hard as you can.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    214
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Can you pair 2 powermeters to one Garmin?

    I do not believe you can pair two PMs simultaneously to one edge 500... But you can have 2 bike profiles with different PMs.
     

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Coventry, RI
    Posts
    679
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Can you pair 2 powermeters to one Garmin?

    For actual simultaneous use, no. For use at different times, yes- at least for my FR910XT. I have two bikes with PTs on them and the watch switches between the 2 automatically and flawlessly.
     

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sutton, MA USA
    Posts
    4,199
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Can you pair 2 powermeters to one Garmin?

    I believe you can pair two different PMs with a Joule, if you know somebody who will let you borrow one.
    Mike Zanconato
    Web
    | Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | Flickr | Tumblr

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Tucson
    Posts
    1,128
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Can you pair 2 powermeters to one Garmin?

    Quote Originally Posted by Jukebox View Post
    Set up a second bike profile with the new power meter. Bike 1 will have the old power meter, bike 2 the new one.
    Thanks, this is what I am trying to do, 2 bikes with SRM's and one Garmin that I move around. Sorry, probably should have been more descriptive in my original post..
     

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Cleveland, OH
    Posts
    442
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Can you pair 2 powermeters to one Garmin?

    Quote Originally Posted by Jukebox View Post
    Set up a second bike profile with the new power meter. Bike 1 will have the old power meter, bike 2 the new one.
    Seconded. I've done this with both SRM and Quarq.

    A bike profile for each SRM unit and you're set.
     

Similar Threads

  1. Garmin new vs old(er)
    By false_aesthetic in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 32
    Last Post: 06-13-2012, 01:59 PM

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •