Thread: TIME Roc ATAC & TIME XS Carbon ATAC - same cleats?

fixednwinter is offline VSalonistas

Default TIME Roc ATAC & TIME XS Carbon ATAC - same cleats?

I'm still new to TIME MTB bike pedals. I bought a couple of sets last summer of the basic Roc ATAC model to try them out on my gravel road bikes and I'm happy so far.

Does their TIME XS Carbon ATAC (their top line version) use the same cleat? I assume it does, but wanted to double check. I tried Google but didn't find a definitive answer.

roseyscot is offline VSalonistas

Default Re: TIME Roc ATAC & TIME XS Carbon ATAC - same cleats?

Cleat is the same, but frankly, the less expensive roc with the round engagement bars feels better than the more expensive atac series. Also, I am finding the atac pedals develop slop pretty quickly due to loosening springs.

edoz is offline VSalonistas

Quote Originally Posted by roseyscot View Post
    Also, I am finding the atac pedals develop slop pretty quickly due to loosening springs.
    I haven't shared that experience. I've used them for years on multiple bikes and they've not loosened up on me. I wonder what's different about our situations.
    Eric Doswell, aka Edoz
    Summoner of Crickets
    http://edozbicycles.wordpress.com/
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/edozbicycles/
    In Before the Lock

Quote Originally Posted by edoz View Post
    I haven't shared that experience. I've used them for years on multiple bikes and they've not loosened up on me. I wonder what's different about our situations.
    I use the nicer atac for cx and mtb and find
    1. The pin holding the spring in place tends to move and cause slop in the spring. I have to tap it back into position with a nail punch every 4-5 rides to tighten things up again
    2. The rounded bars of the roc models play much nicer with cleats of varying age